Skip to content
12. 4. 11 / rosemarried

Recipe Swap: Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Skillet Cookie

For thirteenth installment of the Burwell General Store Recipe Swap, we’re switching things up!

For the past year, we’ve been remaking recipes from a funny old cookbook (and hymnal!) called All Day Singin’ and Dinner on the Ground. I don’t personally own the book, but I feel a connection to it as I’ve been making (or re-making) recipes from it for a year now. I love how old timey the book is and how utterly simple the recipes are. For most of the recipes, the instructions are a few mere sentences.

As you may recall, last month was the year anniversary of the Recipe Swap. To celebrate, all the recipe swappers were asked to make our own versions of a Maple Syrup Cake. I went with a Butternut Squash Layer Cake with Maple Cream Cheese frosting (and yes, it tasted every bit as good as it sounds). The cake was the perfect way to celebrate the year anniversary of a group I’ve grown so fond of.

However, going forward, we’re going to be making recipes from a new book: The Second Ford Treasury of Favorite Recipes From Famous Eating Places.

I’m not what you would call an inflexible person, but some might describe me as stubborn. When I heard that we were going to be using a new cookbook, I was dubious. I’d grown rather fond of our funny little cookbook! I wasn’t quite ready to say goodbye to All Day Singin and Dinner on the Ground. But, then I realized that introducing a new book to the group only further encourages creativity in the kitchen and will bring a whole new set of interesting recipes to recreate. I’m all for creativity in the kitchen, and so I set aside my hesitations and decided to embrace the new book.

It probably didn’t hurt that the first recipe that Christianna selected from the new book was a recipe for the classic Tollhouse Cookie. I mean, seriously, what’s not to like about the Tollhouse cookie? It is the epitome of classic recipes; it is the ultimate chocolate chip cookie.

I was slightly flustered by the idea of remaking such a classic, so I decided to give the Tollhouse cookie a slight twist. I didn’t want to do anything TOO crazy, as I’m a big fan of the original Tollhouse cookie. I wanted to make something that paid proper homage to the original recipe, and yet updated it at the same time. So, I made one giant whole wheat chocolate chip cookie in a cast iron skillet and sprinkled it with sea salt.

The cookie was rich, chewy, dense, and was the perfect marriage of sweet and salty. The whole wheat flour added density and flavor (and I’d like to pretend that it means this cookie is healthy). At the end of the day, I loved this recipe because it tasted like everything I want out of a chocolate chip cookie. The dark chocolate, whole wheat, and seat salt work so well together. This is the perfect (giant) cookie.

I didn’t attempt to improve on the original Tollhouse cookie as I believe that is an impossible feat. But, I took the spirit of that recipe and I made it my own. I baked it in a cast iron skillet. I sliced off a big old wedge of cookie and ate it warm with vanilla bean ice cream. And I was happy (!).

All that to say: happy recipe swap, y’all. I hope you found as much happiness in your Tollhouse recreations as I did. I certainly had a good time.

“Cast Iron Skillet Cookie”: Whole Wheat Chocolate Skillet Cookie
Adapted from 101 Cookbooks

3 cups whole wheat flour
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/4 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
8 ounces (2 sticks) cold unsalted butter, cut into small cubes, plus more for buttering the pan
1 cup dark brown (or muscovado) sugar
1 cup white sugar
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
6 ounces bittersweet or dark chocolate, roughly chopped into small pieces (I used lightly salted dark chocolate from Lindt)
High quality sea salt, for finishing

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Butter a 10 (or 11″) cast iron skillet, that is at least 2″ deep (this is important! if the skillet isn’t deep enough, it will overflow).

Sift the dry ingredients into a large bowl.

In another large bowl (or in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment) add the chilled butter and the white and brown. Mix just until the butter and sugars are blended (low speed), about 2 minutes. Use a spatula to scrape down the sides of the bowl along the way. Add the eggs one at a time, mixing until each is combined. Mix in the vanilla. Add the flour mixture to the bowl and blend on low speed until the flour is barely combined, about 30 seconds. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl.

Add most of the chocolate to the batter and mix until the chocolate is just incorporated. Use a spatula to scrape the batter out into the skillet, pressing it into an even layer. Sprinkle any remaining chocolate across the top and sprinkle a bit of high quality sea salt over the top.

Bake the cookie for 35-45 minutes, or until until the dough is a deep golden brown along the edge, and the center has set. Remove from oven and let cool before slicing. Cut into wedges (or squares). Best served warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

Please see below for all the other fantastic contributions to this recipe swap!



27 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Tina@flourtrader / Dec 5 2011 4:52 am

    I like the fact that you used whole wheat flour in this, definitely gives the cookie more texture. Also, your cookie does look like it has some height to it, unlike the typically flat skillet cookies. It does look enticing and delicious in your picture-yum!

  2. cookingcollegechick / Dec 5 2011 6:00 am

    This looks so delicious. I’ve wanted to get my hands on a cast iron skillet because I feel like it will add a unique crispiness to food, and a giant cookie that’s only slightly crispy on the edges sounds just wonderful. Great pictures!

  3. Lacy / Dec 5 2011 7:19 am

    Oh my god that sounds amazing, I love how you made it in a skillet. Looks delicious!

  4. easyfoodsmith / Dec 5 2011 7:30 am

    Making cookie in skillet…hhmm…very interesting. It looks very delicious. Bookmarked… and Buzzed 🙂

  5. Kiri W. / Dec 5 2011 7:52 am

    How cool! I’ve never had a skillet cookie, and I’m afraid I’d devour the whole thing in seconds! Looks absolutely amazing 🙂

  6. Sabrina Modelle / Dec 5 2011 7:58 am

    I want to eat that cookie. Well, maybe not all of it, but a big fat slice of it. It’s beautiful and it’s in cast iron, which makes it even more beautiful. Hooray for big beautiful cookies!

  7. Boulder Locavore / Dec 5 2011 8:38 am

    Good for you for knowing where you are with this. I too was fond of the other cookbook though found some of the recipes hard to take/redo. I am intrigued by this new book and the opportunity to learn about some of the recipes of that day. Loved this version of the cookie. You did make it your own. I’d never think to cook a cookie in a skillet!

  8. Chef Dennis / Dec 5 2011 11:08 am

    now that’s the perfect size cookie for me, just give me a fork and clear the room…sigh

    what a tasty cookie that must have been, I’ve never baked in a skillet, I do have to give it a try!
    thanks for an inspiring entry in this months swap!

  9. Rachel / Dec 5 2011 11:25 am

    What a cookie! I’m glad you respected your love for the Tollhouse cookie in the swap. I think it’s a perfect recipe for a skillet cookie, too. It gets so puffy by stays dense and moist at the same time! Whole wheat flour is great too. That’s probably the only chocolate chip cookie improvement I make too.

  10. PolaM / Dec 5 2011 1:35 pm

    That cookie looks great! Did you manage not to eat it all by yourself? I wouldn’t

  11. Alli / Dec 5 2011 3:14 pm

    Brilliant idea to use a cast iron skillet! And adding sea salt and whole wheat flour sounds so hearty and delicious and love that with making one big cookie, you can say ‘I only had ONE cookie today’ 😉

  12. Manu / Dec 5 2011 4:58 pm

    Amazing looking cookie! I love that it is cooked in a skillet! And that it is made with whole wheat flour too! 🙂

  13. Jamie / Dec 5 2011 8:30 pm

    I would love to eat this giant cookie right now! Great post!

  14. lindsey@Lindselicious / Dec 5 2011 10:47 pm

    This makes me want to run out and buy a skillet!!!

    • rosemarried / Dec 6 2011 12:48 pm

      Lindsey, yes! You need a cast iron skillet! It is, hands down, my favorite piece of cookware.

  15. Lana / Dec 5 2011 11:42 pm

    That cookie looks so good, but I am afraid that my husband would think it’s all for him:) I love the bite of salt in my cookies and the girls are learning to like it as well. One of these days I just have to make a giant skillet cookie, as it looks so wonderfully enticing:)

  16. MyFudo / Dec 6 2011 6:22 am

    Gee! I love how it looks like a sweet omelette on a skillet. I have never had anything like this before…I am so glad I stumbled upon your post. Great cookie post! Thanks!

  17. The Dusty Baker / Dec 6 2011 7:30 am

    Sigh my happy heart. This recipe makes me feel all warm and cozy inside, and the cast iron skillet seems made for this recipe swap! I have to get a new one (my old roommate blitzed mine, if you can believe it) but there’s something just so wonderful about an old, worn one that I haven’t committed again. I might just so I can make this in the cold of winter for old-moving watching!! Happy Swapping and Happy Holidays over there!

  18. claire @ the realistic nutritionist / Dec 6 2011 12:44 pm

    Oh I love this!!!!! I need a skillet!

  19. bakingjenn / Dec 6 2011 3:16 pm

    Whole wheat cookie? Seriously, count me in. This looks incredible. Also, anything made in a cast iron skillet is always better! 😉

  20. The Cozy Herbivore / Dec 6 2011 6:53 pm

    What a fabulous idea! There’s something so decadent about one GIANT cookie, isn’t there? And I love the addition of sea salt. A beautiful adaptation!!

  21. Camilla Fay / Dec 6 2011 9:43 pm

    I love what you did with this swap, the mix of a classic cookie and a classic vehicle to cook it in gives this whole post such a comforting, homey feel to it!

  22. Shari / Dec 7 2011 2:13 pm

    This looks amazing – I’m so jealous of your wonderful photography … I had so many issues this month (including a funeral right before posting) which meant that I published without photographs. Hope that you have a very Merry Christmas and a happy new year and I look forward to swapping with you in the new year.

    Shari from http://www.goodfoodweek.blogspot.com

  23. Kim Bee / Dec 8 2011 1:32 pm

    Omg this is amazing. I love my cast iron skillet. I’d have to replace the whole wheat though but otherwise this is perfection for me. Love the addition of salt.

  24. sarah / Dec 8 2011 9:10 pm

    Oh I just love old cookbooks- and this skillet cookie looks fantastic!

  25. Banana Wonder / Dec 9 2011 12:37 pm

    Applauding your rendition! I would love a thick slice with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. Anything in a skillet is better.

Trackbacks

  1. A Few Random Links … | The Pretense of Knowledge

Leave a comment