Skip to content
1. 16. 12 / rosemarried

Wintery Grilled Cheese (with Goat Cheese, Roasted Beets & Wilted Chard).

It’s a quiet winter Sunday and I’m puttering about the house and working on various projects (cleaning, organizing, laundry, etc). It’s freezing outside and the weather is manic; alternating between snow flurries and sunshine. I’ve got a chill in my bones that I can’t quite shake, and no amount of coffee seems to do the trick. I click back and forth between the Packers game and the Golden Globes, as I can’t decide which is more depressing.

I think it’s the perfect day to make a grilled cheese sandwich.

Why? Because grilled cheese is the perfect winter meal.

In addition, the grilled cheese sandwich is a prime example of a time-tested culinary rule: melty cheese + bread = culinary magic. (If interpreted loosely, this rule also applies to pizza, quesadillas, nachos, lasagna, mac n’ cheese, cheeseburgers, etc. You get the idea.)

So, this sandwich is essentially a dressed up version of the bread and cheese rule. I took a couple slices of quality bread and added goat cheese, roasted beets, wilted chard, caramelized onions, along with a healthy dollop of creamy horseradish.

The result? My new favorite winter meal. I’m not kidding. This sandwich is a wonderful tribute to the season, and utilizes some of my favorite winter vegetables: beets, onions, and chard. The creamy goat cheese melds together perfectly with the earthy winter veggies, and the horseradish gives the sandwich just the right amount of punch.

If this is what winter tastes like, then I hope winter lasts forever.

(OK, maybe I’m exaggerating a bit with that last sentence. At the very least, this sandwich makes the winter much more tolerable.)

Wintery Grilled Cheese: With Goat Cheese, Roasted Beets, and Wilted Chard.
(Inspired from a similar sandwich I consumed at Bunk Bar. Thank you, Tommy. You rule.)
Makes 4 hearty sandwiches.

Ingredients:
8 slices quality bread (I splurged on Grand Central Bakery’s Sliced Campagnolo. So good.)
4 ounces goat cheese (Chevre), room temperature
3 cups of rainbow chard, roughly chopped
1 large yellow onion, sliced thinly
2 medium-large beets
Horseradish, to taste

Method:
Roast the beets: Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Wash beets and trim off beet greens, leaving a 1/2 inch “stem”. Wrap each beet individually in tin foil. Once the oven is hot, place wrapped beets directly on the oven rack (or on a pan, if you’d rather). Roast for 40 minutes (up to an hour), until beets are soft all the way through when pricked with a fork. Remove from oven and allow to cool. Once cool enough to handle, unwrap beets and remove skin. The skin should come off easily (I usually use a paper towel and gently rub off the skin). Set beets aside.

While the beets are roasting, caramelize the onions. In a medium size non-stick skillet, heat 1 teaspoon of olive oil over medium-low heat. Once the oil is hot, add in the sliced onions. Allow to cook over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally, until brown and caramelized (about 30 minutes). If they begin to cook too quickly, turn the heat down to low. Remove the onions from the pan and set aside.

In the same skillet (no need to clean it, the onion flavor will just enhance the chard), heat a splash of oil over medium heat. Add in the chopped chard and allow to heat. Stir, and after a minute or two, add one tablespoon of water to the pan. Cover, and turn the heat down to medium-low. Allow the chard to cook like this for 5 minutes. Check on the chard, if the water has evaporated but the chard is still under-cooked, add a bit more water and cook for 2-3 more minutes. I like my chard leaves to be wilted, but I like the chard stems to still retain a bit of crunch. Season with salt and freshly ground pepper. Set aside until ready to make your sandwiches.

Once the beets, chard, and onions have cooked, your sandwiches are ready to assemble!

I trust that you all know how to make a grilled cheese sandwich, so I’m not going to go overboard with instructions. Essentially, spread a (thick) layer of goat cheese on one slice of bread. Top with beet slices, wilted chard, and caramelized onions. Spread creamy horseradish on the other slice of bread (along with a little more goat cheese, if you so desire). Butter the exterior of your bread slices, and cook your grilled cheese sandwiches on a griddle (or non-stick skillet) over medium-high heat. Cook sandwiches for 3-5 minutes on each side, until bread is golden and the goat cheese is warm and ‘melty’.

Note: goat cheese does not “melt” like other cheeses, but it will get warm, gooey, and delicious.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Burwell General Store / Jan 16 2012 11:00 am

    More beets on your blog!! Love it. I’m quietly collecting vegetarian recipes because I am thinking of trying out the “weekday vegetarian” diet. Thanks for creating this one!

  2. Lana / Jan 16 2012 11:05 am

    This could easily become my favorite sandwich, too! I can almost taste the combination of flavors! I always have a fresh supply of roasted beets in the fridge, kept in a jar with some olive oil and salt, begging to be used in different ways. Thanks for the inspiration! Love it:)

  3. Kiri W. / Jan 16 2012 6:27 pm

    Oh that looks good! Love the idea of having it be a goat cheese melt, and with beets? Perfect! Cleveland is blanketed in snow, so bring on the comfort food! 🙂

  4. Anita @ Hungry Couple / Jan 16 2012 7:41 pm

    Hmm. I love beets. I love goat cheese. I put them together in salads all the time and never thought to make a sandwich. Love it! Thanks 🙂

  5. tiffany / Jan 17 2012 8:31 am

    Earthy, crunchy, cheesy, and seasonable! Who could ask for more?!?!?!? 😀

  6. Cucina49 / Jan 17 2012 3:49 pm

    That is seriously stunning. Goat cheese and beets in a salad I’ve done, but not a grilled cheese sandwich. Time to get out my panini press!

  7. sarah / Jan 17 2012 4:07 pm

    Love this- culinary magic for sure! Hope you are staying warm, we got a lot of snow on Sunday here in Seattle and are bracing for more tomorrow.

  8. Susie / Jan 17 2012 11:03 pm

    This looks like a tasty grilled cheese. I love that you added goat cheese and beets. Sounds amazing.

  9. alican / Jan 18 2012 7:16 am

    very nice! thank you 🙂

  10. Grubarazzi (@Grubarazzi) / Jan 19 2012 6:29 pm

    Oh wow! The beets in here really make me want to try this…like right now. How cool!

Leave a comment