Skip to content
12. 29. 11 / rosemarried

Ringing in the New Year: The French 77

Let me start off by saying this: 2011 was a great year.

*I turned 30.

*I got the best bunny in the entire world, Little Omar.

*I traveled to Chicago, Las Vegas, Los Angeles, and Seattle.

*My niece, Jubalee, was born in July (and she’s perfect and beautiful and the best little chunk of a baby).

*I finally got to dine at a Thomas Keller establishment (Bouchon in Las Vegas).

*I dyed my hair ‘ombre’.

*I planted my first real garden (thanks to the raised garden beds my husband built for me). I grew: squash (delicata, spaghetti, zucchini), chioggia beets, tomatoes, shallots, carrots, chives, arugula, kale, chard, peppers, and cucumbers.

*I was asked to join the board of the Montavilla Farmer’s Market. (And I accepted, of course).

*I finally got on the Harry Potter bandwagon. I read all the books and watched all of the movies this year, and I’m seriously kicking myself for not reading them sooner.

*In June, I celebrated 2 years of marriage to my best friend.

This is us, looking celebratory (!):

So, yeah, I’d say it’s been a fantastic year.

As for 2012? I’ve got a whole lot to look forward to…

*Hosting the PDX Food Swap (The next one will be in March, 2012!).

*Working with the Montavilla Farmer’s Market, specifically working to help reduce food insecurity through the Everybody Eats program.

*Eating at DOC in Portland – it’s been on my list for ages, and somehow I’ve not had a chance to eat there.

*Taking on new freelance writing gigs, in addition to expanding my wedding coordinating and events business. I have some exciting things in the works!

*Traveling to Europe with my love (The plans are still tenative, but if I write it here, that means we have to go!).

*Planting & growing an even more successful garden!

*Disneyland! (We’re going in January. I’m a total sucker for Disneyland.)

*Vegas in March with a couple of my favorite ladies.

*Trying new things, cooking new things, and learning new things.

I’m exciting to grow and change this year. I’m excited for whatever life throws at me. I’m thankful for all that I’ve been given, and I look forward to the new year with a sense of hope and excitement. God is good.

Lastly, I thought I’d share a festive cocktail recipe that is perfect for ringing in the new year. It also happens to be my favorite cocktail of all time: The French 77.

The French 77 is a variation on the classic cocktail, The French 75. The French 75 was created in 1915 at a bar in Paris and the drink was originally made with gin, champagne, simple syrup, and a lemon twist. The name hails from the fact that the cocktail was rumored to “have such a kick that it felt like being shelled with the powerful French 75mm field gun”.

The 77 doesn’t differ much from the 75, but the one slight change makes all the difference (in my humble opinion). The 77 uses Elderflower Liqueur (St. Germain) in place of the simple syrup. The St. Germain adds a sweetness that isn’t too sweet. It’s slightly floral, without being too overpowering. It’s perfect. The cocktail is smooth, balanced, and goes down ridiculously easily. And yes, it certainly has the kick of a French field rifle. This cocktail packs a punch (in the best way).

So, Happy New Year to you and yours! I plan on celebrating with a French 77. Maybe you’ll join me?

The French 77
Note: The drink is often served in a champagne flute, but I like to serve it in a smaller classic cocktail glass.

Ingredients:
2 oz Gin
1/2 oz St. Germain (Elderflower liqueur)
1 oz fresh squeezed lemon juice
2 ounces Champagne (or sparkling wine)
1 small strip lemon zest

Shake together gin, lemon juice, and St. Germain with ice. Strain, and pour into a cocktail glass. Pour champagne float over the top, garnish with lemon zest. Serve immediately.

Makes one cocktail.

Happy New Year, y’all!

16 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kiri W. / Dec 30 2011 6:46 am

    Sounds like you really had a great year! 🙂
    This drink sounds yummy – never heard of it, but I’ll be sure to give it a try 😉

  2. boulderlocavore / Dec 30 2011 7:14 am

    What a beautiful year you’ve had and are looking forward too! Love your neice’s name by the way. Wishing all that you so richly deserve in 2012. By the way my fam just watched all the Harry Potter movies back to back over this holiday week (something we’ve all wanted to do). I’ve seen them each before but they were completely different watching them all together. Cheers my friend!

  3. Grubarazzi (@Grubarazzi) / Dec 30 2011 9:56 am

    You have so much to be happy and proud of! Here’s to another year of greatness (and a couple of those cocktails!)

  4. tiffany / Dec 30 2011 3:29 pm

    The joy in your life is lighting up my computer screen! Thank you for such a vivacious post and I can’t wait to see what the new year brings you! Happy New Year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • rosemarried / Dec 30 2011 4:48 pm

      Thank you, Tiffany! Happy New Year to you as well!!!

  5. sarah / Dec 30 2011 4:26 pm

    Sounds like you had a lovely year and hopefully an even more lovely one to come! Beautiful cocktail. I just so happen to have all the makings for this at home- trying it tonight!

  6. Barbara | Creative Culinary / Dec 30 2011 8:53 pm

    What a great year for you…I’m decidedly envious and yet happy for you too! I made the French 75 for my post today but I do love St. Germain and can imagine how good it is too. Ahem…great minds and all and a Happy New Year to you!

  7. Michelle / Dec 30 2011 9:13 pm

    Love St. Germain!!

  8. Beth Michelle / Dec 31 2011 8:35 am

    Sounds like a perfect year and so much to look forward to! Happy New Year!

  9. Elyse @The Cultural Dish / Dec 31 2011 4:04 pm

    This drink sounds wonderful and I am so happy that you got on the Harry Potter bandwagon! I have been in love with those books for years! Happy New Year!

  10. Jenni Kupelian / Dec 31 2011 8:01 pm

    Sweet! Loving your blog 🙂

  11. adelesbestfood / Jan 1 2012 5:23 am

    I must have one and very soon!

  12. kris [life at the table] / Jan 1 2012 11:42 am

    happy new year! will put this on my ‘try in 6 months’ list… 😉

  13. The Dusty Baker / Jan 1 2012 7:00 pm

    Love everything about this post, and have so loved reading your blog this year. Cheers to meeting somewhere on this gorgeous planet in the flesh!! xxoo

  14. The Cozy Herbivore / Jan 3 2012 7:30 pm

    Oh, that looks so elegant and delightful! And speaking of elegant, you & your hubs look super swanky in that picture. So cute!

  15. katvetrano / Jan 7 2012 1:09 pm

    How funny, I have a huge list of detox (including stalking the Food Lover’s Cleanse from BA) and came to your blog for more inspiration! Thanks girl!

Leave a comment