Skip to content
12. 28. 11 / rosemarried

Chai Snickerdoodles

We made it through the holidays! High fives all around.

Granted, my house is in shambles and my pants feel like they are two sizes too small. But that’s what the holidays are all about, right? In all seriousness, I had a wonderful Christmas. I spent a lot of quality time with my family (and adorable nieces), I ate a lot good food, and played a lot of Just Dance 3. (In case you were wondering, I’m absolutely horrible at Just Dance 3.)

However, the holidays aren’t technically over yet. We still have to ring in the new year! I’m not one for New Year’s resolutions – namely, I don’t like making promises I can’t keep – but I do plan on making a few dietary changes on January 1st. No, I am not going on a diet. I’m just going back to the way I normally eat. I like eating fruits, veggies, and whole grains. I feel better when I eat healthy and exercise (call me crazy, but I actually like feeling good). So, I’m going to listen to my body and I’m going to cut back on sugar, carbs, alcohol, etc.

But, that starts on January 1st. Meaning: I’ve got a few more days to eat cookies. And so do you!

So make these cookies now and gobble them up before your New Year’s resolutions begin. 😉

P.S. I’m aware that these cookies may appear to be sprinkled with black pepper, but I can assure you that they are sprinkled with Chai tea leaves (and cinnamon, cardamom, cloves, etc). And I can assure you that they are really, really delicious.

CHAI SNICKERDOODLES
Adapted from The Novice Chef

2 1/3 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons cream of tartar**
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup unsalted butter (2 sticks), room temperature
1 1/2 cups white sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 eggs

**If you do not have cream of tartar, you can substitute a 1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice.

For the Chai sugar:
5 tablespoons white sugar
2 teaspoons Masala chai tea leaves (Use loose leaf, or empty the contents of a couple of tea bags)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon cardamom
1/4 teaspoon ginger
1/8 teaspoon cloves
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg

Method:
Using a food processor or mortar & pestle, grind the Chai tea until it is fine. Combine chai with the sugar and other spices in a small bowl. Set aside.

In another (medium) bowl, combine dry ingredients.

Using a stand mixer (or hand mixer), cream together butter until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time. Add in vanilla (and lemon juice, if substituting for cream of tartar).

Slowly add dry ingredients to wet ingredients, and mix until combined. Place dough in refrigerator to chill for a half hour.

Meanwhile, preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper (or a Silpat).

Once the dough has chilled, remove from fridge. Using your hands, form dough into large balls (about 1″). Roll each ball in the chai sugar mix, and place on a baking sheet (leave space, as the cookies will expand during baking). Bake for 12-14 minutes, until edges are just barely beginning to turn golden brown. Allow cookies to rest for 5 minutes on cookie sheet before transferring to a cooling rack.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. sarah / Dec 28 2011 9:41 am

    These are brilliant!! Glad you had a good holiday and hope you have a wonderful New Year!

  2. Grubarazzi (@Grubarazzi) / Dec 28 2011 10:28 am

    These look gorgeous!

  3. Tina@flourtrader / Dec 28 2011 10:43 am

    Love the addition of the Chai with all those spices in this cookie! I really do want to taste them, glad you posted the recipe here. Wishing you a wonderful New Year!

  4. culinarycache / Dec 28 2011 4:48 pm

    Great recipe, one definitely worth trying!

  5. tiffany / Dec 28 2011 7:32 pm

    LOVE the speckles! 😀

  6. Toni from Boulder Locavore / Dec 29 2011 2:41 pm

    So glad you’ve had a happy Christmas and trust New Year’s will be no different! Love your cookies though I’m personally saturated on sugar at the moment. Dying until my local farm that greenhouse grows during the winter opens up again for pounds of arugula. Would eat it out of the ground right now to detox from the sweets! Love Just Dance 3.

  7. The Cozy Herbivore / Dec 29 2011 6:02 pm

    I got a jar of homemade chai mix from the recent Philly Food Swap and although I love chai tea, I wanted to use the amazing homemade version for something special. Guess I found a special something! I can’t wait to try this– gorgeous looking cookies!

  8. Beth Michelle / Dec 30 2011 12:55 am

    Chai snickerdoodles?! So interesting. These look amazing.

  9. Kiri W. / Dec 30 2011 2:02 am

    These look gorgeous! I love using chai flavoring for snickerdoodles, which are an all time favorite of mine!

  10. Banana Wonder / Dec 30 2011 8:13 pm

    Mmmm love tea cookies! These look fantastic. See you soon!

Leave a comment