Skip to content
12. 3. 10 / rosemarried

Lemon Thyme Bruschetta

And now, I would like to present to you: the easiest (homemade) appetizer on the planet.

Once again, the lovely folks at The Kitchn posted a recipe that I couldn’t live without making. The day they posted this recipe, I promptly went home and made it for dinner. I just had to have it! And, as usual, The Kitchn did not fail me and the bruschetta was fantastic. I don’t mean to belabor the point, but sometimes I think the editors at The Kitchn are inside of my brain. I want to make everything they post! If you don’t check The Kitchn often, you really should. Especially during this time of year, they have great gift ideas, holiday meal plans, stories, tips, tricks, and recipes. I just love it.

But, back to the task at hand.

So this lemon thyme bruschetta – aka the easiest appetizer on the planet – also happens to be really tasty and works nicely as a holiday appetizer. The ingredients are simple, fresh and elegant – and the preparation is minimal. And since this time of year tends to be hectic, I welcome a quick and delicious appetizer that will impress the masses at the various holiday parties I’m supposed to attend. Or you can skip sharing it with others altogether and just have it for dinner one cold winter evening? Not that I would ever do such a thing. 🙂

All that to say, lemon + ricotta + thyme + honey + bread = perfection. Happy munching!

Lemon-Thyme Bruschetta
(Adapted from The Kitchn)

Ingredients:
1 baguette; thinly sliced
8 ounces ricotta cheese
1 lemon; zested
2 tsps lemon juice
Salt (*A smoky or black Hawaiian seat salt is best, but if you don’t have any regular salt will do!)
Freshly cracked black pepper
Honey
1.5 tablespoons fresh thyme, finely chopped

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.

Mix together ricotta, lemon zest, lemon juice, and 1/2 of the thyme. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Set aside.

Toast baguette slices in the oven for 5-7 minutes until slightly browned and warm. Spread liberally with seasoned ricotta. Drizzle with honey, sprinkle with thyme. To make it extra pretty, grate a small amount of lemon zest over the top. Serve warm.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Did you bring this to the Food Swap on Wednesday?! I sampled a delicious bit of bread spread with “lemony goodness” (as another swapper put it), and it was amazing. Neither of us knew who it belonged to, though.

    If this is the recipe, I feel like I’ve struck gold xx

    • rosemarried / Dec 3 2010 5:13 pm

      Bethany, yes this was the lemony goodness I brought to the food swap! I’m so glad you liked it, it is just so simple & easy to make (and delicious).

  2. Joe + Beyth / Dec 8 2010 6:50 pm

    We tried it! Lemon thyme bruschetta is a delightful Christmas miracle. Strannigan has done it again!

  3. Cherie / May 26 2011 7:04 pm

    This sounds great-would be even better with homemade fresh ricotta, which is so simple and so much better than store bought. Pour 8 cups whole milk & 1 tspn salt into large, heavy pot. Bring to a simmer over med-high heat-stir in lemon juice. Allow to simmer until curds form (1-2 minutes). Skim curds into a cheese cloth lined colander and allow to drain for only 1 minute. Transfer to container and chill 3 hours before using. Lasts several days in the refrigerator.

    • rosemarried / May 26 2011 7:34 pm

      Thanks for this! I actually just made my own ricotta for the first time last week! So funny that you mentioned it!

Leave a comment