Skip to content
4. 18. 11 / rosemarried

Chickpea Pancakes & Shaved Brussels Sprout Salad

Recipe for a perfect night:

1 Sunny Friday evening in Portland, Oregon
1 Dear friend, Mari
2 Glasses chilled Rosé
1 Porch swing
2 Chickpea pancakes
1 Generous helping of warm shaved Brussels sprout salad
2 Tickets to the Trailblazers vs. Lakers game at the Rose Garden
1 Huge victory over the Lakers by the Trailblazers

Combine all of these elements together and you have a (nearly) perfect evening.

The only reason I say nearly perfect – as opposed to completely perfect – is simply because my husband wasn’t able to join in on all the fun. He had too work late (boo, hiss).

But, my friend/food blogger/Blazer nerd Mari is a lovely substitute when the husband isn’t available, and we did it up right last Friday.

We drank good wine.
We soaked in the sun.
We ate good food.
We watched a great basketball game.
We wore our matching LaMarcus Aldridge Jerseys (like the dorks we are) and cheered on our boys.

We even met Blaze the Trail Cat (YES. Our mascot is really a cat. And, yes. His name is really Blaze the Trail cat.)

The food was fabulous, the company was superb, and the basketball game was nothing short of amazing.

But, enough of this basketball craziness. This is, after all, a food blog (as opposed a basketball blog), so I feel the need to tell you about the food that contributed to our perfect evening.

The chickpea pancakes are a recipe I’d seen on the almighty Tastespotting. I always keep an arsenal of Gluten Free recipes around for nights when Mari visits, and this recipe was at the top of my list. Not only was the recipe gluten free, but it was vegan (yay Lent!), required minimal prep and/or ingredients, and it looked unbelievably tasty.

The original recipe paired the chickpea pancakes with a lovely green salad. I didn’t have the makings for a lovely green salad, but I did have a bunch of Brussels sprouts that I needed to use up. So, then, I simply made up a “salad” using the Brussels and various other ingredients I had laying about. The result: a warm shaved Brussels sprout salad with shallot, almonds, and lemon. It was the perfect compliment to the chickpea pancake.

I served the warm salad atop the chickpea pancake, with a drizzle of Goddess dressing over the top.

Recipe: Chickpea Pancakes (Socca) with Shaved Brussels Sprout Salad

Shaved Brussels Sprout Salad
3 cups Brussels sprouts, outer leaves removed
1 small shallot, diced
The juice of 1 lemon
2 tablespoons slivered almonds
Dash of red chili flakes
Salt & pepper to taste

Method:

Using a knife or mandoline, slice Brussels sprouts very thinly.

Toast almonds in a dry skillet over medium high heat until golden brown, about 5 minutes. Be careful not to burn. Set almonds aside.

In the same skillet, warm 1 tablespoon quality olive oil (or clarified butter). Add minced shallot to the pan and cook until translucent.

Add in sliced Brussels, and cook for 2-3 minutes, until sprouts are starting to wilt (but are still green and crisp). Remove pan from heat, and toss the Brussels mixture with lemon juice, salt, pepper, chili flakes and toasted almonds. Serve warm.

The recipe for the chickpea pancakes can be found at Whole Living Daily.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mari / Apr 18 2011 8:08 am

    Linds, I just love you. Indeed is was a (near) perfect Friday night girl date. I loved everything about it and now I’m having dreams about the pancakes and the sprouts and the dressing…and everything really. Viva la SUMMER! Can’t wait.

  2. Burwell General Store / Apr 18 2011 9:27 am

    I love every last thing about this post. The photo is hilarious and amazing, the recipe is mouth-watering, the company looks divine, there was sun involved, and… the Blazers beat the Lakers!! What a perfect post.

  3. Jacqueline Raposo / Apr 18 2011 4:13 pm

    Mmmmm… Brussels Sprouts are my favorite veggie and these look just delightful! Sounds like such a lovely evening!

  4. Banana Wonder / Apr 18 2011 9:41 pm

    Yum! What a perfect night… I have had shaved b sprout salad at restaurants but never thought of making. That will soon change! Love the rose paring too.

  5. Jill@MadAboutMacarons / Apr 19 2011 3:48 am

    What a fun evening! Absolutely love your chickpea pancakes. Always looking for a good recipe with chickpeas as my kids just adore them. THIS is just perfect.

  6. thelittleloaf / Apr 19 2011 7:07 am

    These look so delicious. My mum used to make me chickpea pancakes when I was little (and a vegetarian) and I don’t have the recipe so will definitely be trying these. I also love brussels sprouts with chilli – great idea!

  7. krispindanielle / Apr 19 2011 7:12 am

    wow, you make brussel sprouts sound good. and, i bought a bottle of goddess dressing yesterday and it is the best thing ever. not sure if that was what you were going for on your blog, but it makes me happy! (ps, it is “laying around” not “lying around” grammar nerd!).

  8. Sabrina Modelle / Apr 19 2011 10:35 am

    Once again, you make my mouth water with those tempting treats. I adore shaved brussels sprouts salad. I love girls nights too AND it’s vegan. Perfect.
    X
    Sabrina

  9. Beth Michelle / Apr 24 2011 11:41 am

    Sounds like a wonderful night 🙂 I love this recipe. I will definitely be trying it!!

Trackbacks

  1. Gluten-Free Cooking: 10 Meals Your Family Will Devour | Yummly

Leave a comment