Skip to content
9. 2. 11 / rosemarried

Grilled Corn Salad with Cherry Tomatoes and Avocado

And just like that, I have a husband again.

You see, my husband has a new job. Rather, he has a new/old job. For the last 6 months, he was working a corporate job in the suburbs. We didn’t realize it while he was there, but the job was killing both of us. He wasn’t happy. I wasn’t happy. Our schedules were out of sync and we barely saw each other.

And now he’s back working at his old job…and suddenly everything is different. I forgot how nice it is to have afternoons and evenings together. Or how nice it is to cook and eat a meal together. We’ve been so thrilled about his schedule, that we’ve found ourselves cooking together almost every night. We’ve been making fancy meals for no reason, just because we can. We’re just soaking up this newfound time with each other, and we’re loving it. We’ve also been grilling a lot, and I can’t express to you how lovely it is to sit outside, drink a glass of wine, and enjoy a lazy summer meal together in our backyard.

This grilled corn salad was created on one such evening. Nich was grilling tequila lime shrimp (for shrimp tacos) and I decided to make a grilled corn salad to go along with the tacos. I went with flavors that I thought would compliment the meal – cilantro, lime, cumin, and avocado. It was bright and full of flavor – the sweetness of the corn played off the tangy lime and the fresh tomatoes beautifully.

I now insist on making this salad every time we fire up the grill. I adore this salad. I’ll eat it on its own, throw it on tacos (or burritos, quesadillas, etc), or devour it with chips. And while I know that it is now September, I’m hoping for an Indian Summer. I am simply not ready to welcome the changing of seasons (yet). I need a few more lazy summer dinners in the backyard with my husband. I need a few more impromptu BBQ’s. And frankly, I need more excuses to make this corn salad while the summer corn is ripe and sweet.

So, hello, September, I hope you’re kind to us in the Northwest. We’d like a bit more summer, if you don’t mind.

Grilled Corn Salad with Cherry Tomatoes and Avocado

1.5 cups cherry tomatoes, halved
2 ears of sweet corn, husks removed
1 ripe avocado, cut into small cubes
1/2 cup cilantro, chopped
1 small red onion (or 1/2 large red onion), diced
2 teaspoons olive oil
The juice of 1 lime
1/4 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon red wine vinegar
Salt & pepper, to taste

Brush 2 ears of corn lightly with olive (or canola) oil. Place shucked corn directly on the grill, turning every few minutes. Once the corn has a slight char on all sides, remove to a plate and allow to cool.

In a small or medium bowl, mix together avocado, red onion and cherry tomatoes. Once the corn has cooled, take a knife to the side of the corn and cut off the kernels. Stir into the avocado & tomato mixture.

In a small bowl, whisk together lime juice, olive oil, red wine vinegar, cumin, cilantro, and salt and pepper. Pour gently over the corn mixture, and stir to combine. Add the liquid slowly, and only add enough to just dress the salad. Taste, and adjust seasonings as needed.

Options & Variations: The first time I made this salad, I also threw in some grilled zucchini and it was quite tasty. I’ve also added a bit of Serrano pepper to the mix, and that adds a nice spicy kick.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Burwell General Store / Sep 2 2011 9:36 am

    Delicious nod to the end of season!!

    This recipe already makes me nostalgic for summer. πŸ™‚

  2. Erin @ Dinners, Dishes and Desserts / Sep 2 2011 12:43 pm

    This salad looks amazing! I love anything with avocados and tomatoes! Glad you and your husband are getting to spend time together again!

  3. swellkid recipes / Sep 2 2011 3:30 pm

    That looks wonderful!

  4. Lindsey@Lindselicious / Sep 2 2011 4:33 pm

    Glad you and the hubs are back in synch again with your schedules! This salad looks so good. I love anything with grilled corn!

  5. Sarah (@simplycooked) / Sep 2 2011 7:58 pm

    Beautiful, and sounds very tasty. Corn and cilantro and a great combination, eh? It’s interesting that it took that rough period to help you and your husband appreciate your time together more.

  6. Beth Michelle / Sep 3 2011 4:22 am

    I love grilled corn and this salad looks like the perfect side dish to any summer meal. Im glad you and your husband are enjoying you newfound time together πŸ™‚

  7. Jen at The Three Little Piglets / Sep 3 2011 9:17 pm

    I feel you – my husband has been in the Navy for 15 years. The first time we sit down as a family again after a long deployment, we suddenly realize how much we missed it and take it for granted. The salad looks delicious.

  8. boulderlocavore / Sep 4 2011 3:08 pm

    Completely gorgeous! Our weather has changed dramtically in the last 2 days, almost as if on cue. Along with that is an instantaneous shift in the food focus. Where I could not eat anything cooked or heavy last week I’m looking toward soups now. This sounds substancial and yet not heavy: an homage to summer with a foot into fall.

  9. FashionIntel (@FashionIntel) / Sep 4 2011 11:24 pm

    This looks absolutely tasty!

Leave a comment